Today’s July the 17th Reading


The Gospel appointed for the Feast Day of Blessed William White according to the Episcopal Lectionary:

The chief duty of a pastor is to “feed the sheep” with the Wisdom of the Gospel and Scripture and the Efficacy of the Sacraments, to uphold the witness of the Ancient of Days in the company of the People of God, and to proclaim without apology or reservation the Lordship of Christ in the Holy Spirit to the Glory of the Father Amen+

John 21:15-17

When they had finished breakfast, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you love me more than these?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord; you know that I love you.” Jesus said to him, “Feed my lambs.” A second time he said to him, “Simon son of John, do you love me?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord; you know that I love you.” Jesus said to him, “Tend my sheep.” He said to him the third time, “Simon son of John, do you love me?” Peter felt hurt because he said to him the third time, “Do you love me?” And he said to him, “Lord, you know everything; you know that I love you.” Jesus said to him, “Feed my sheep.”

Today is also the Feast of St Francis Solano in Roman Kalendar, the Feast Day in the Coptic Church of
• The Martyrdom of St. Theodore, Bishop of Pentapolis.
• The Martyrdom of St. Theodore, Bishop of Corinth, and his companions.
• The Falling Asleep in the Lord of Anba Gabriel VII, 95th Pope of Alexandria and the Commemoration of the Nicholas the Second and his family in the Russian Church. May these and all our holy companions pray with and for us through Jesus Christ Our Lord Amen+

2 Comments

  1. Bishop, I guest authored a post “Feed My Lambs” on this very scripture over at Christian Blessings back during Lent! This is probably my favorite scripture about a dialogue between Jesus and one of the disciples!

  2. I would have liked very much to have read it, thank you for all you do with your wondrous gift,

Leave a Reply

