Reading for the 12 of September


Today is Wednesday of the 15 week after Pentecost in the Anglican/Episcopal and Lutheran Kalendars, the 14 week in the Russian/OCA Kalendar, the 23rd week in the Roman Kalendar and the second day of the Egyptian Coptic month Tout.

Our Gospel Selection is from the Anglican/Episcopal Lectionary.
Here Jesus reminds us as he prays to the Father that we are truly a sign of contradiction and as such we will be hated for following Jesus even by those who claim to speak for him.

Jesus prayed for his disciples, saying, “Holy Father, protect them in your name that you have given me, so that they may be one, as we are one. While I was with them, I protected them in your name that you have given me. I guarded them, and not one of them was lost except the one destined to be lost, so that the scripture might be fulfilled. But now I am coming to you, and I speak these things in the world so that they may have my joy made complete in themselves. I have given them your word, and the world has hated them because they do not belong to the world, just as I do not belong to the world. I am not asking you to take them out of the world, but I ask you to protect them from the evil one. They do not belong to the world, just as I do not belong to the world. Sanctify them in the truth; your word is truth. As you have sent me into the world, so I have sent them into the world. And for their sakes I sanctify myself, so that they also may be sanctified in truth.”

Today is also the Feast Day in the Episcopal Kalendar of Blessed John Henry Hobart and in the Roman Rite the Feast of the Holy Name of Mary. In the Coptic Church it is the Commemoration of the Martyrdom of St John the Baptist and also of St Dasya the Soldier. In the Russian/OCA Kalendar it is the Commemoration of the Martyrdom of Sts. Theodore of Alexander, Julian and his 40 Companions of Galatia, St Autonomous of Italy, and Coronatus of Iconium. May these Holy Friends and all our Holy Companions pray with and for us through Jesus Christ Our Lord Amen+

1 Comment

  1. We ARE under the most effective shield of protection in the universe–the prayers of our Lord!

Leave a Reply

